Latest News

Fiesta® San Antonio Commission 2021-22 Leadership

By 08/10/2021 No Comments
SAN ANTONIO (August 4, 2021) – The Fiesta® San Antonio Commission is happy to announce its leadership for the 2021-22 Fiesta Year.

The following have been elected as officers of the Commission:

COL (Ret) Jon Fristoe:                    President

John Meyer:                                      President-Elect

Richard Sparr:                                  Senior Vice President

David Christian:                                Vice President

Nick Holt:                                           Vice President

Ferne Burney:                                   Treasurer

Patti Zaiontz:                                     Secretary

Irma Iris Duran de Rodriguez:       Presidential Appointee

Baltazar (Walter) Serna Jr.:           Immediate Past President


Jon Fristoe (pictured) says, “I am humbled by the opportunity to serve the Commission and the San Antonio Community.  Because of the resilience of our Participating Member Organizations, we will do everything we can to celebrate a full Fiesta in 2022 with all San Antonians and their guests.”

The following organizations, with their respective representative, will serve the Commission on the Board of Directors:

Battle of Flowers® Association:                            Kelly Kennedy

Beethoven Mannerchor, Inc.:                                 David Uhler

Conservation Society of San Antonio:                   Kathy Rhoads

Fiesta Flambeau® Parade Association, Inc. :     Robert Cuellar

Military-Civilian Club of San Antonio:                  Victoria Wood

Order of the Alamo:                                                  Webb Sellers

Rey Feo Consejo Educational Foundation:          Bill Drain

Rey Feo Scholarship Foundation:                          Johnny Gabriel

San Antonio Queen of Soul, Inc.:                           Rochelle Staten

San Antonio Zulu Association:                               Leroy Sance Jr.

St. Mary’s University Alumni Association:           Joe Vela Jr.

Texas Cavaliers:                                                         Clyde Johnson IV

United San Antonio Pow Wow, Inc.                      Erwin De Luna


The following individuals have been elected to serve the Commission as Elected Commissioners for a three-year term beginning August 1, 2021:

Dr. Richard Adam

Jo Betsy Booker

Gloria De Hoyos

Mae Escobar

Marty Gonzalez

Teresa Robertson

About the Fiesta® San Antonio Commission

The Fiesta® San Antonio Commission Inc. is a nonprofit, volunteer, self-supporting organization that plans, promotes, coordinates, and preserves Fiesta® San Antonio through support of its Participating Member Organizations in presenting a safe, educational, annual celebration of the diverse heritage, culture and spirit of San Antonio for its residents and visitors.

Fiesta® San Antonio started in 1891 as a one-parade event, Battle of Flowers®, to honor the memory of the heroes of the Alamo and the Battle of San Jacinto.  Today, Fiesta® San Antonio features more than 100 diverse events over eleven days which are produced by more than 100 local non-profit and military participating member organizations.  Because of Fiesta, these organizations are able to support the San Antonio community throughout the year.