Latest NewsNews Releases

Fiesta® San Antonio Commission 2022-23 Leadership

By 08/09/2022 No Comments


For more information contact:

Steve Rosenauer, Executive Director

SAN ANTONIO (August 9, 2022) – The Fiesta® San Antonio Commission is happy to announce its leadership for the 2022-23 Fiesta Year.

The following have been elected as officers of the Commission:

  • John Meyer                                                   President
  • Richard Sparr                                               President-Elect
  • David Christian                                             Senior Vice President
  • Ferne Burney                                                1st Vice President
  • Jim Mery                                                        2nd Vice President
  • Bart Simpson                                                Treasurer
  • Kathy De Luna                                             Secretary
  • Anne Ballantyne                                           Presidential Appointee
  • COL (Ret) Jon Fristoe                                 Immediate Past President

John Meyer exclaims, “I am excited to be the 2022-2023 Commission President and look forward to providing guidance to the Fiesta® leadership, supporting more than 100 non-profit Fiesta® member organization events and serving the San Antonio Community.  I invite you to attend all our Official Fiesta® events to support many worthwhile organizations and be a part of the Fiesta® family spirit that is the true success of Fiesta®!”


The following organizations, with their respective representative, will serve the Commission on the Board of Directors:

  • Melanie Cawthon                                         disABILITYsa
  • Scott Christy                                                 The Texas Cavaliers
  • Robert Cuellar                                              Fiesta Flambeau® Parade Association, Inc.
  • Bill Drain                                                        Rey Feo Consejo Educational Foundation
  • Johnny Gabriel                                             Rey Feo Scholarship Foundation
  • Barclay Houston                                           The Order of the Alamo
  • Kelly Kennedy                                              Battle of Flowers® Association
  • Laura Read                                                   Military-Civilian Club of San Antonio
  • Kathy Rhoads                                               The Conservation Society of San Antonio
  • David Uhler                                                   Beethoven Maennerchor, Inc.
  • Virginia Van Cleave                                     The Woman’s Club of San Antonio
  • Leroy Sance Jr.                                            San Antonio Zulu Association

The following individuals have been elected to serve the Commission as Elected Commissioners for a three-year term beginning August 1, 2022:

  • Gilbert Casillas
  • Jonathan Delmer
  • Dolores Guzman-Farias
  • Daniel Medrano
  • Sylvia Reyna
  • Linda Skop
  • Joe Vela Jr.

The dates of Fiesta 2023 are April 20-30.  For more information, please visit

About the Fiesta® San Antonio Commission


The Fiesta® San Antonio Commission, Inc. is a non-profit, volunteer, self-supporting organization that plans, promotes, coordinates, and preserves Fiesta® San Antonio through support of its Participating Member Organizations in presenting a safe, educational, annual celebration of the diverse heritage, culture and spirit of San Antonio for its residents and visitors.


Fiesta® San Antonio started in 1891 as a one-parade event, Battle of Flowers®, to honor the memory of the heroes of the Alamo and the Battle of San Jacinto.  Today, Fiesta® San Antonio features more than 100 diverse events over eleven days which are produced by nearly 100 local non-profit and military participating member organizations.  Because of Fiesta, these organizations can support the San Antonio community throughout the year.